When is the Home Run Derby? Time, TV schedule, participants & more to watch MLB's 2021 contest

When is the Home Run Derby? Time, TV schedule, participants & more to watch MLB's 2021 contest

Get ready to see some baseballs get hit a long way. 

Eight of MLB’s best power hitters will step into the batters’ box at Coors Field — one of the most hitter-friendly ballparks in the sport — for the 2021 Home Run Derby. 

And there are some exciting stories to follow in this year’s derby. Can Shohei Ohtani become the first pitcher to win it all? Will Pete Alonso be the third player to win back-to-back titles? Is Trevor Story set to become the fourth hometown hero to put on a show for the local fans? 

Here’s all the information you need to watch the Home Run Derby on Monday. 

MORE: Watch the Home Run Derby on fuboTV (7-day free trial)

When is the Home Run Derby in 2021?

  • Date: Monday, July 12
  • Time: 8 p.m. ET

MLB’s 2021 Home Run Derby is scheduled to start at 8 p.m. ET on Monday, July 12. It lasts three rounds, with eight MLB players slugging it out in a bracket-style competition until a champion is crowned. 

How to watch the 2021 Home Run Derby

Fans will have two options when it comes to watching the 2021 Home Run Derby. There will be the traditional broadcast with Karl Ravech, Eduardo Perez, Buster Olney and Marly Rivera calling the game on ESPN, and there will be the Statcast edition on ESPN2 with Jason Benetti, Jessica Mendoza and Mike Petriello. 

Both options will be available for streaming on ESPN+ or fuboTV, which offers a seven-day free trial

Home Run Derby participants 2021

The field for the 2021 Home Run Derby was finalized this week, with the final three — Matt Olson, Juan Soto and Joey Gallo — confirmed to join Shohei Ohtani, Pete Alonso, Trey Mancini Trevor Story and Salvador Perez in Coors Field on Monday to participate in the slugfest. 

The brackets for the first round of the tournament were finalized on Wednesday night as well, with the winner of Ohtani vs. Soto set to face off against Perez vs. Alonso on one side of the semifinals and the winner of Gallo vs. Story poised to battle the victor of Olson vs. Mancini on the other side. The winners of the semifinals will then clash to decide the 2021 Home Run Derby champion. 

Bracket 1

1Shohei Ohtani
8Juan Soto

Bracket 2

4Salvador Perez
5Pete Alonso

Bracket 3

2Joey Gallo
7Trevor Story

Bracket 4

3Matt Olson
6Trey Mancini

Past Home Run Derby champions

Here’s who has won the Home Run Derby in the past. Ken Griffey Jr. is the only hitter to win the derby in Colorado. He also holds the record for the most Home Run Derby wins overall, sitting at three, including 1998 and 1999 when he became the first player to win the event in back-to-back years. 

YearPlayerTeamPark (City)
2019Pete AlonsoMetsProgressive Field (Cleveland)
2018Bryce HarperNationalsNationals Park (Washington, D.C.)
2017Aaron JudgeYankeesMarlins Park (Miami)
2016Giancarlo StantonMarlinsPetco Park (San Diego)
2015Todd FrazierRedsGreat American Ballpark (Cincinnati)
2014Yoenis CespedesAthleticsTarget Field (Minneapolis)
2013Yoenis CespedesAthleticsCiti Field (New York City)
2012Prince FielderTigersKauffman Park (Kansas City)
2011Robinson CanoYankeesChase Field (Phoenix)
2010David OrtizRed SoxAngel Stadium (Anaheim)
2009Prince FielderBrewersBusch Stadium (St. Louis)
2008Justin MorneauTwinsYankee Stadium (New York City)
2007Vladimir GuerreroAngelsAT&T Park (San Francisco)
2006Ryan HowardPhilliesPNC Park (Pittsburgh)
2005Bobby AbreuPhilliesComerica Park (Detroit)
2004Miguel TejadaOriolesMinute Maid Park (Houston)
2003Garret AndersonAngelsU.S. Cellular Field (Chicago)
2002Jason GiambiYankeesMiller Park (Milwaukee)
2001Luis GonzalezDiamondbacksSafeco Field (Seattle)
2000Sammy SosaCubsTurner Field (Atlanta)
1999Ken Griffey Jr.MarinersFenway Park (Boston)
1998Ken Griffey Jr.MarinersCoors Field (Colorado)
1997Tino MartinezYankeesJacobs Field (Cleveland)
1996Barry BondsGiantsVeterans Stadium (Philadelphia)
1995Frank ThomasWhite SoxThe Ballpark in Arlington (Arlington)
1994Ken Griffey Jr.MarinersThree Rivers Stadium (Pittsburgh)
1993Juan GonzalezRangersOriole Park at Camden Yards (Baltimore)
1992Mark McGwireAthleticsJack Murphy Stadium (San Diego)
1991Cal Ripken Jr.OriolesSkyDome (Toronto)
1990Ryne SandbergCubsWrigley Field (Chicago)
1989*Ruben SierraRangersAnaheim Stadium (Anaheim)
1989*Eric DavisRedsAnaheim Stadium (Anaheim)
1987Andre DawsonCubsOakland-Alameda County Coliseum (Oakland)
1986*Wally JoynerAngelsAstrodome (Houston)
1986*Darryl StrawberryMetsAstrodome (Houston)
1985Dave ParkerRedsHubert H. Humphrey Metrodome (Minneapolis)

*Both 1986 and 1989 saw ties in the Home Run Derby