NBA to retire Bill Russell's number league-wide: Which current NBA players wear No. 6?

NBA to retire Bill Russell's number league-wide: Which current NBA players wear No. 6?

The NBA and National Basketball Players Association announced on Thursday that the late, great Bill Russell will have his jersey No. 6 retired across the entire league.

An honor that is strictly reserved for all-time greats, Russell joins Jackie Robinson (No. 42) and Wayne Gretzky (No. 99) as the only players in United States professional sports history to have their jersey numbers retired across an entire league.

MORE: How Bill Russell revolutionized defense

However, even though no new players can wear the No. 6, players who currently don the jersey number — most notably, LeBron James — will be “grandfathered in” and can continue to wear that number if they choose.

Which current NBA players wear the No. 6? We have the complete list below.

Bill Russell jersey retirement: Which current NBA players wear the No. 6?

James is the most notable player who currently wears the No. 6.

While these players can all continue to wear Russell’s jersey number in his honor if they choose, don’t be surprised to see some players change their number heading into this season.

For example, when the great Kobe Bryant passed away, several players changed their jersey numbers from No. 8 or No. 24 to a different number.

Below, you can find the full list of players who wore No. 6 last season.

Nickeil Alexander-WalkerUtah Jazz
Moses BrownCleveland Cavaliers
Shaq BuchananMemphis Grizzlies
Alex CarusoChicago Bulls
Zylan CheathamUtah Jazz
Gabriel DeckOklahoma City Thunder
Hamidou DialloDetroit Pistons
David Duke Jr.Brooklyn Nets
Bryn ForbesDenver Nuggets
Melvin FrazierOklahoma City Thunder
Quentin GrimesNew York Knicks
Montrezl HarrellWashington Wizards
LeBron JamesLos Angeles Lakers
Keon JohnsonPortland Trail Blazers
Kenyon Martin Jr.Houston Rockets
Jalen McDanielsCharlotte Hornets
Jordan McLaughlinMinnesota Timberwolves
Kevin PangosCleveland Cavaliers
Kristaps PorziņģisWashington Wizards
Javonte SmartMilwaukee Bucks
Lance StephensonIndiana Pacers
Rayjon TuckerDenver Nuggets
Luca VildozaMilwaukee Bucks
Tyrone WallaceNew Orleans Pelicans
Lou WilliamsAtlanta Hawks