NASCAR at Las Vegas live updates, results, highlights from the South Point 400

NASCAR at Las Vegas live updates, results, highlights from the South Point 400

Twelve drivers remain in pursuit of a NASCAR Cup Series championship.

The first of three races in the playoffs Round of 12 kicks off Sunday night at Las Vegas Motor Speedway. Polesitter Kyle Larson (3,059 points) enters the race with a 30-point lead in the playoff standings over Martin Truex Jr. (3,029).

LAS VEGAS LINEUP: Starting order, pole for race without qualifying

Larson is the most recent winner in Vegas, having won the Pennzoil 400 in March, but Joey Logano should also be coming into the race with confidence. He won the race in 2019 and 2020.

A win by a playoff driver in this race will guarantee him a spot in the Round of 8, but placing highly in this race will be critical to the playoff hopes of all 12 drivers with a challenging race at Talladega Superspeedway next week.

Sporting News is tracking live updates and lap-by-lap highlights from NASCAR’s race at Las Vegas on Sunday night. Follow below for complete results from the South Point 400.

MORE: Watch today’s NASCAR race live with fuboTV (7-day free trial)

NASCAR at Las Vegas live updates, highlights from South Point 400

7:08 p.m.: UFC president Dana White gives the command to drivers.

7:08 p.m.: Both William Byron and Martin Truex Jr. will have to start in the rear after failing pre-race inspections.

7:01 p.m.: Matt Stell singing the national anthem during the pre-race ceremonies.

6:45 p.m.: Drivers are being introduced ahead of tonight’s race. Here’s one of the most popular in Vegas.

6:30 p.m.: A couple of milestones for the Busch brothers. Kurt Busch is starting race No. 750 of his NASCAR Cup Series career and Kyle Busch racing in No. 600.

NASCAR start time today

  • Time: 7 p.m. ET (TV time)
  • TV channel: NBCSN (TSN in Canada)
  • Live stream: | NBC Sports App | fuboTV (7-day free trial)

The green flag for Sunday’s NASCAR Cup Series playoff race on Las Vegas Motor Speedway’s 1.5-mile oval is scheduled to drop at 7:19 p.m. ET.

Desert heat will be the biggest weather concern for drivers and teams on Sunday. The National Weather Service’s Sunday forecast for Las Vegas is for sunny skies and a high temperature in the low 90s. Skies will remain clear Sunday night with a low in the high 60s. The race is scheduled to begin in the late afternoon and end after sunset Pacific time.

NASCAR Cup playoff standings

Kyle Larson leads the playoff points standings as the Round of 12 begins. He’s 30 points clear of second-place driver Martin Truex Jr. Tied for third are Denny Hamlin and Ryan Blaney, another five points back.

On the other end are the drivers below the Round of 8 cut line: Joey Logano, Brad Keselowski, Christopher Bell and Kevin Harvick. Logano is just one point behind eighth-place driver William Byron, however.

A playoff driver who wins a race in the Round of 12 automatically advances to the Round of 8. 

1Kyle Larson3059
2Martin Truex Jr.3029
3Denny Hamlin3024
4Ryan Blaney3024
5Kyle Busch3022
6Chase Elliott3021
7Alex Bowman3015
8William Byron3014
9Joey Logano3013
10Brad Keselowski3008
11Christopher Bell3005
12Kevin Harvick3002

NASCAR starting lineup at Las Vegas

Here is the complete NASCAR starting lineup for Sunday’s playoff race at Las Vegas Motor Speedway, the South Point 400.

Start pos.DriverCar No.Team
1P-Kyle Larson5Hendrick Motorsports
2P-Ryan Blaney12Team Penske
3P-William Byron24Hendrick Motorsports
4P-Martin Truex Jr.19Joe Gibbs Racing
5P-Kevin Harvick4Stewart-Haas Racing
6P-Denny Hamlin11Joe Gibbs Racing
7P-Alex Bowman48Hendrick Motorsports
8P-Brad Keselowski2Team Penske
9P-Joey Logano22Team Penske
10P-Kyle Busch18Joe Gibbs Racing
11P-Chase Elliott9Hendrick Motorsports
12P-Christopher Bell20Joe Gibbs Racing
13Tyler Reddick8Richard Childress Racing
14Matt DiBenedetto21Wood Brothers Racing
15Austin Dillon3Richard Childress Racing
16Erik Jones43Richard Petty Motorsports
17Aric Almirola10Stewart-Haas Racing
18Ross Chastain42Chip Ganassi Racing
19Chase Briscoe14Stewart-Haas Racing
20Kurt Busch1Chip Ganassi Racing
21Bubba Wallace2323XI Racing
22Ricky Stenhouse Jr.47JTG Daugherty Racing
23Michael McDowell34Front Row Motorsports
24Ryan Preece37JTG Daugherty Racing
25Chris Buescher17Roush Fenway Racing
26Daniel Suarez99Trackhouse Racing
27Corey LaJoie7Spire Motorsports
28Cole Custer41Stewart-Haas Racing
29Ryan Newman6Roush Fenway Racing
30Garrett Smithley53Rick Ware Racing
31Josh Bilicki52Rick Ware Racing
32Anthony Alfredo38Front Row Motorsports
33Justin Haley77Spire Motorsports
34BJ McLeod78Live Fast Motorsports
35Cody Ware51Petty Ware Racing
36Quin Houff00StarCom Racing
37Joey Gase15Rick Ware Racing
38JJ Yeley66Motorsports Business Management