Liga MX liguilla 2022: Playoffs schedule, teams, results in chase for Mexico soccer Apertura title

Liga MX liguilla 2022: Playoffs schedule, teams, results in chase for Mexico soccer Apertura title

The matchups and seedings are set for the Liga MX liguilla 2022 as the road begins to determine the Apertura champion. 

The Liga MX liguilla kicks off on Saturday, October 8 with a round of single elimination play-in matches hosted by the higher seed. The winner advances to the quarterfinals, while the loser goes home. A draw at the end of 90 minutes will see the teams go straight to penalty kicks without extra time.


The marquee matchup, and arguably the most evenly balanced, is Sunday night’s Puebla vs. Chivas showdown. Both teams fell at the quarterfinal stage in the last campaign and hope to go deeper. Under managerial sensation Nicolas Larcamon, Puebla have high hopes.

Tigres-Necaxa & Toluca-Juarez

Tigres are expected to handle a Necaxa team that failed to win any of its last five regular season matches. Juarez are happy just to be in the postseason after sneaking in on the final day. With the fewest goals of any liguilla team, the Bravos will hope their defending can rescue them when they go to Toluca’s Nemesio Diez. 

Cruz Aul-Leon

Cruz Azul vs. Leon could turn out to be the most entertaining matchup between the two teams that have conceded the most goals among the 12 teams in the liguilla. Cruz Azul are on a hot streak, winning their last four matches of the regular season, including a 2-1 triumph over Leon, in the process handing La Fiera their only loss since Sept. 2. 

Waiting on the other side of the play-in round are the top four teams from the regular season: Club America (No. 1 seed), Monterrey (No. 2), Santos Laguna (No. 3), and Pachuca (No. 4). They are the favorites to win the tournament, with only Tigres UANL and the Puebla-Chivas winner likely the only possible outside challengers among the play-in round teams.

Here’s the schedule, times, TV channels and live streams for the play-in matchups happening on the weekend: 

Play-In matches (Repechaje)

DateMatchTime (ET)TVStreaming
Sat., Oct. 8Tigres (5) vs. Necaxa (12)8 p.m.Univision, TUDNfuboTV
Sat., Oct. 8Cruz Azul (7) vs. Leon (10)10:15 p.m.TUDNfuboTV
Sun., Oct. 9Toluca (6) vs. FC Juarez (11)1 p.m.Univision, TUDNfuboTV
Sun., Oct. 9Puebla (8) vs. Chivas (9)5:30 p.m.TUDNfuboTV

MORE: All-time list of Liga MX champions

How Liga MX Liguilla 2022 works

Twelve teams make the playoffs, with the top four seeds advancing directly to the quarterfinals. The other eight teams play a single-elimination play-in round (the Repechaje in Spanish). If there is a draw after 90 minutes in the Repechaje round, the teams go directly to a penalty shootout.

The four teams that survive the play-in round will face the top four seeds in the quarterfinals based on seeds, with the top seed getting the lowest remaining seed, and so on. Those matchups are played over two legs, as is the rest of the playoffs, including the final.

The team that scores the most goals across each two-leg series advances. If teams are level on total goals after the second leg, the higher seed automatically advances in the quarters and semis. That rule disappears for the final. Extra time and penalties (if necessary) would be used to determine a champion in the final.

  • Play-in matches (Repechaje): Oct. 8-9 (single elimination)
  • Quarterfinals: Oct. 12-13 (1st leg) & Oct. 15-16 (2nd leg)
  • Semifinals: Oct. 19-20 (1st leg) & Oct. 22-23 (2nd leg) 
  • Final: Oct. 27 (1st leg) & Oct. 30 (2nd leg)

Quarterfinals (First leg)

DateMatchTime (ET)TVStreaming
Wed./Thu., Oct. 12/13TBD vs. Club America (1)TBDTBDfuboTV
Wed./Thu., Oct. 12/13TBD vs. Monterrey (2)TBDTBDfuboTV
Wed./Thu., Oct. 12/13TBD vs. Santos Laguna (3)TBDTBDfuboTV
Wed./Thu., Oct. 12/13TBD vs. Pachuca (4)TBDTBDfuboTV

Quarterfinals (Second leg)

DateMatchTime (ET)TV ChannelsStreaming
Sat./Sun., Oct. 15/16Club America (1) vs. TBDTBDTBDfuboTV
Sat./Sun., Oct. 15/16Monterrey (2) vs. TBDTBDTBDfuboTV
Sat./Sun., Oct. 15/16Santos Laguna (3) vs. TBDTBDTBDfuboTV
Sat./Sun., Oct. 15/16Pachuca (4) vs. TBDTBDTBDfuboTV

Liga MX TV channels, live streams in the USA

  • TV channels: Univision, TUDN, UniMas, Telemundo, Universo, ESPN Deportes, Fox Deportes
  • Live streaming: fuboTV, ViX, ViX+, ESPN+, ESPN App,, Fox Deportes app

The Liga MX 2022 Apertura season is carried by four major U.S. broadcast outlets: the Univision family of networks (including Univision, TUDN and UniMas), ESPN Deportes, Telemundo/Universo and Fox Deportes.

All these Spanish-language channels can be streamed on fuboTV, which offers a free trial.

Most matches can also be streamed with user authentication on the various alternate platforms offered by the networks: ViX+,,, and the apps for Telemundo Deportes, ESPN, TUDN and Fox Deportes.

Liga MX Apertura 2022 table

The final regular season standings below are based on points collected during the 17 games of the regular season: three points for a win, one for a draw, none for a loss.

If teams are tied on points, the first tiebreakers was goal difference and then goals scored (if necessary). The full list of tiebreakers is outlined in the official rules (Page 9).

Final standings as of Sunday, Oct. 2, 2022

1.Club America-X381712233817+21
3.Santos Laguna-X331710343821+17
5.Tigres UANL-Y30179352414+10
7.Cruz Azul-Y24177372634-8
10.Club Leon-Y22176472529-4
11.FC Juarez-Y19174761718-1
13.Atl. San Luis-E18174671523-8
15.Club Tijuana-E17174581830-12
16.Pumas UNAM-E14172872131-10

(PTS=Points. GP=Games Played. W=Wins. D=Draws. L=Losses. GF=Goals for. GA=Goals against. GD=Goal Difference.)

  • X = Qualified for quarterfinals
  • Y = Qualified for play-in (repechaje)
  • E = Eliminated

Liga MX 2022 schedule (Matchday 17)

These were the results of the final regular-season matchday, which saw Juarez and Necaxa capture the final two liguilla berths.

Also, Club America clinched the No. 1 seed, while Pachuca and Santos Laguna secured first-round byes by finishing inside the top four.

Fri., Sept. 30Puebla 1, Club America 2HIGHLIGHTS
Fri., Sept. 30FC Juarez 3, Pumas UNAM 1HIGHLIGHTS
Sat., Oct. 1San Luis 0, Tigres UANL 3HIGHLIGHTS
Sat., Oct. 1Monterrey 0, Pachuca 0HIGHLIGHTS
Sat., Oct. 1Atlas 1, Necaxa 0HIGHLIGHTS
Sat., Oct. 1Cruz Azul 2, Chivas 1HIGHLIGHTS
Sun., Oct. 2Toluca 4, Queretaro 1HIGHLIGHTS
Sun., Oct. 2Santos Laguna 3, Mazatlan 0HIGHLIGHTS
Sun., Oct. 2Club Leon 2, Tijuana 2HIGHLIGHTS