Last time Wales qualified for the World Cup? A rundown of nation's history in FIFA tournament

Last time Wales qualified for the World Cup? A rundown of nation's history in FIFA tournament

Wales are looking to qualify for the 2022 World Cup and will host Ukraine in the playoff final on June 5.

The only time that Wales have previously qualified for the World Cup was for the 1958 tournament, when they reached the quarterfinals. 

Having failed to qualify for the past 15 tournaments, Wales will be determined to avoid a similar fate this time around.

They didn’t enter the first three World Cups as they were not a FIFA member.

LIVE BLOG: Wales vs. Ukraine winner-take-all World Cup playoff

Wales in FIFA World Cup

In their only FIFA World Cup appearance, Wales were drawn in Group 3 with host Sweden, Hungary and Mexico. Three group-stage draws lifted Wales level in second place with Hungary, and the two sides were forced into a playoff to determine who advanced to the quarterfinals (there was no Round of 16). Wales won the playoff 2-1 thanks to a Terry Medwin goal 15 minutes from time.

Wales then fell in the quarterfinals to eventual champion Brazil on a lone goal by legend Pele.

The Dragons will be hoping to make their first World Cup in 64 years by defeating Ukraine at home on June 5.

YearStage reached
1930Not a FIFA member
1934Not a FIFA member
1938Not a FIFA member
1950Did not qualify
1954Did not qualify
1962Did not qualify
1966Did not qualify
1970Did not qualify
1974Did not qualify
1978Did not qualify
1982Did not qualify
1986Did not qualify
1990Did not qualify
1994Did not qualify
1998Did not qualify
2002Did not qualify
2006Did not qualify
2010Did not qualify
2014Did not qualify
2018Did not qualify
2022Qualification in progress

Wales in Euros

Wales qualified for its first Euros finals in 2016 and reached the semifinals of that edition.

After topping Group B ahead of England, Slovakia and Russia, Wales knocked off Northern Ireland (Rd of 16) and Belgium (quarterfinals) before losing to Portugal 2-0 in the semifinals on goals by Cristiano Ronaldo and Nani that were minutes apart. Portugal would go on to win the tournament.

Wales reached the finals of the following Euros tournament which was pushed to 2021. They once again reached the knockouts after finishing second in Group A. But unlike in 2016, Wales fell at the first hurdle, 4-0 at the hands of Denmark.

YearStage reached
1960Did not enter
1964Did not qualify
1968Did not qualify
1972Did not qualify
1976Did not qualify
1980Did not qualify
1984Did not qualify
1988Did not qualify
1992Did not qualify
1996Did not qualify
2000Did not qualify
2004Did not qualify
2008Did not qualify
2012Did not qualify
2021Round of 16