IIHF Women's World Championship 2021: Time, TV channel, live stream, schedule

IIHF Women's World Championship 2021: Time, TV channel, live stream, schedule

It has been more than two years since the women have hit the ice, but the 2021 IIHF Women’s World Championship is officially here. 

After the 2020 edition was canceled because of the COVID-19 pandemic and this year’s tournament was moved from April to May to August, the best players from around the globe have now descended upon Canada to compete for gold. 

The United States is aiming for its sixth consecutive championship dating to 2013 (the worlds are not held in Olympic years). USA Hockey’s last title, in 2019, came with controversy after an overtime goal by Finland’ was overturned and the Americans won in a shootout.

The Finns advanced to the final after upsetting Canada 4-2 in the semifinals. The loss marked the first time Canada did not play for gold in the tournament’s history. Canada has won the most golds (10) but will be searching for its first since 2012.

As always, the women’s world championship is expected to be packed with big goals, big saves and even bigger wins. With national pride on the line, the battle for gold will be fierce. Here’s all you need to know about the tournament.

Where is the 2021 Women’s World Championship?

The 2021 IIHF Women’s World Championship will take place in a bubble at WinSport Arena in Calgary, Alta.

The tournament originally was to be held in Halifax and Truro, N.S., from April 7-17. It was shifted to May 6-16 because of the ongoing pandemic, but on the morning of April 21, Hockey Canada was informed by the province that the tournament was canceled

This year marks the eighth time Canada will host the championship and the first time the women’s tournament will be played in the province of Alberta. The last time Canada hosted, the Americans beat the host country 1-0 in overtime in Kamloops, B.C.

When will the 2021 Women’s World Championship take place?

The tournament will begin Friday, Aug. 20, and end with gold medals being handed out Aug. 31.

The group stage, with two groups of five teams each, will end Aug. 26. After an off-day, eight teams will battle it out in the quarterfinals. The semifinals will be on Aug. 30. The bronze-medal and gold-medal games will be played Aug. 31.

What channel is the 2021 Women’s World Championship being aired on? 

  • TV channel (U.S.): NHL Network
  • Live stream (U.S.): ESPN+, fuboTV (7-day free trial)
  • TV channel (Canada): TSN, RDS
  • Live stream (Canada): TSN Direct

Every women’s world championship game will be aired on TSN in Canada. RDS will cover all Canada games including the playoff rounds. NHL Network will air every USA game with ESPN+ carrying the other games. 

Which teams are in the 2021 Women’s World Championship?

Ten teams, divided into two groups of five, are participating. Every team in Group A will advance to the quarterfinals. Only three teams will advance from Group B with the third-best team playing the top team from Group A.

Group AGroup B
United StatesJapan
FinlandCzech Republic

Why is Russia listed as ‘ROC’?

The World Anti-Doping Agency banned Russia from international competition for four years last December. The ban includes Olympic Games and world championships and Russia’s flag or name cannot be used. Athletes, however, are not banned from competing but can only do so under a neutral flag.

ROC stands for Russian Olympic Committee, and instead of the national anthem being played, Pyotr Tchaikovsky’s Piano Concerto No. 1 will be played.

Are fans allowed at the 2021 Women’s World Championship?

Hockey Canada announced on Aug. 18 that fans will not be allowed to attend the preliminary games.

“While we would love to be able to welcome fans to WinSport Arena in Calgary, our priority focus is the health and safety of all involved, allowing the best women’s hockey players in the world to compete and ensuring we can present medals on Aug. 31,” Scott Smith, president and chief operating officer of Hockey Canada. said a statement released by the team.

2021 Women’s World Championship standings

Considered the “Power 5,” every team from Group A will advance to the quarterfinals. The top three teams from Group B will also advance. The teams that lose in the quarterfinals will compete in a separate bracket with the winning team earning the No. 5 slot and a spot in Group A in the 2023 tournament. 


1. Canada40012
2. USA3109
3. Finland2206
4. ROC1303
5. Switzerland0400


1. Czech Republic40012
2. Japan3109
3. Germany2206
4. Hungary1303
5. Denmark0400

Wins in regulation = 3 points
Overtime win = 2 points
Overtime loss = 1 point

When is Canada vs. USA?

The 2021 edition of the Battle of North America will face off Aug. 26 in the preliminary round. Of course, there’s the expectation that there will be a rematch — but when is anyone’s guess.

Full schedule for the 2021 Women’s World Championship

Participating teams are each guaranteed four group-stage games. Teams that advance to the final day of competition (bronze-medal or gold-medal game) will play a total of seven contests.

(All times Eastern) 

Czech Republic 6, Denmark 12 p.m.TSN, ESPN+
Canada 5, Finland 36 p.m.TSN, NHLN
USA 3, Switzerland 09:30 p.m.TSN, NHLN
Germany 3, Hungary 02 p.m.TSN, ESPN+
ROC 3, Switzerland 16 p.m.TSN, ESPN+
Japan 1, Denmark 09:30 p.m.TSN, ESPN+
Czech Republic 4, Hungary 22 p.m.TSN, ESPN+
Canada 5, ROC 16 p.m.TSN, NHLN
USA 3, Finland 09:30 p.m.TSN, NHLN
Germany 3, Denmark 12 p.m.TSN, ESPN+
Japan 0, Czech Republic 46 p.m.TSN, ESPN+
USA 6, ROC 02 p.m.TSN, NHLN
Switzerland 0, Canada 56 p.m.TSN, NHLN
Hungary 1, Japan 49:30 p.m.TSN, ESPN+
ROC 0, Finland 42 p.m.TSN, ESPN+
Czech Republic 2, Germany 06 p.m.TSN, ESPN+
Denmark 1, Hungary 59:30 p.m.TSN, ESPN+
Finland 2, Switzerland 02 p.m.TSN, ESPN+
USA 1, Canada 56 p.m.TSN, NHLN
Japan 2, Germany 19:30 p.m.TSN, ESPN+
QF: ROC 2, Switzerland 3 (OT)NoonTSN, NHLN
QF: USA 10, Japan 23:30 p.m.TSN, NHLN
QF: Canada 7, Germany 07 p.m.TSN, NHLN
QF: Finland 1, Czech Republic 010:30 p.m.TSN, NHLN
SF: USA vs. Finland3 p.m.TSN, NHLN
SF: Canada vs. Switzerland7 p.m.TSN, NHLN
Bronze-medal game3:30 p.m.TSN, NHLN
Gold-medal game7:30 p.m.TSN, NHLN

Who won the 2019 Women’s World Championship?

The United States won the last worlds after a controversial decision in overtime. It was the Americans’ fifth consecutive gold.

WORLDS 2019: USA wins gold after controversial OT decision denies Finland

Who has won the last 10 Women’s World Championships?

YearWinnerHost country
2019United StatesFinland
2017United StatesUnited States
2016United StatesCanada
2015United StatesSweden
2013United StatesCanada
2012CanadaUnited States
2011United StatesSwitzerland
2009United StatesFinland
2008United StatesChina

Which countries have won medals at the Women’s World Championship?

United States910019