Formula 1 qualifying results: Starting grid for 2021 British Grand Prix

Formula 1 qualifying results: Starting grid for 2021 British Grand Prix

More than races past, this is truly a sprint.

For the first time in F1, sprint qualifying belongs to Red Bull and Max Verstappen after the sport’s first tremendously entertaining foray into a new qualifying format for Sunday’s race. Lewis Hamilton entered the day on pole position, but got off to a slow start, leading way for Verstappen to take pole:

MORE: Watch Formula 1 live with fuboTV (7-day free trial)

The grid for Saturday’s sprint qualifying session was set with the qualifying session on Friday; usually the second practice session, a sprint quali weekend means that the typical FP1-FP2-FP3-Q lineup is replaced by FP1-Q-FP2-SQ over Friday and Saturday.

In addition, top three racers will pick up some points for finishing on a metaphorical podium: Verstappen takes three driver’s championship points for Sunday’s race, with Mercedes teammates Hamilton and Valtteri Bottas taking second and third, respectively.

Here’s how they’ll line up this Sunday in the UK:

Formula 1 starting lineup for 2021 British Grand Prix

Here’s how they lined up for Saturday’s sprint qualifying, with qualifying for Sunday’s race below:

At the end of it, pole position mattered not for Lewis Hamilton, who was out-started and out-paced by Red Bull’s Max Verstappen.

Verstappen sits on pole for Sunday’s race. George Russell is under investigation for a collision with Carlos Sainz:

PositionDriver (Team)
1.Max Verstappen (Red Bull)
2.Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes)
3.Valtteri Bottas (Mercedes)
4.Charles Leclerc (Ferrari)
5.Lando Norris (McLaren)
6.Daniel Ricciardo (McLaren)
7.Fernando Alonso (Alpine)
8.Sebastian Vettel (Aston Martin)
9.George Russell (Williams)
10.Esteban Ocon (Alpine)
11.Carlos Sainz (Ferrari)
12.Pierre Gasly (AlphaTauri)
13.Kimi Raikkonen (Alfa Romeo)
14.Lance Stroll (Aston Martin)
15.Antonio Giovinazzi (Alfa Romeo)
16.Yuki Tsunoda (AlphaTauri)
17.Nicholas Latifi (Williams)
18.Mick Schumacher (Haas)
19.Nikita Mazepin (Haas)
20.Sergio Perez (Red Bull)

What channel is the F1 race on Sunday?

  • Race: British Grand Prix
  • Date: Sunday, July 18, 2021
  • TV channel: ESPN
  • Live stream: WatchESPN, fuboTV

The ESPN family of networks will broadcast all 2021 F1 races in the United States using Sky Sports’ feed, with a few races heading to ABC later in the season.

In addition, ESPN Deportes serves as the exclusive Spanish-language home for all 2021 F1 races in the U.S.

What time does the F1 race start on Sunday?

  • Date: Sunday, July 18
  • Start time: 10 a.m. ET

The 10 a.m. ET start time for Sunday’s race means the 2021 British GP will start at 3 p.m. local time. The on-the-hour start time means lights out will likely take place just after 10 a.m. ESPN’s pre-race show usually airs in the hour prior to the start of the race.

Below is the complete TV schedule for the weekend’s F1 events at the British GP.

DateEventTime (ET)TV channel
Friday, July 16Practice 19:30 a.m.ESPN2
Friday, July 16Qualifying1 p.m.ESPN2
Saturday, July 17Practice 27 a.m.ESPN2
Saturday, July 17Sprint qualifying11:30 a.m.ESPN2
Sunday, July 18Race10 a.m.ESPN

Formula 1 live stream for British Grand Prix

For those who don’t have a cable or satellite subscription, there are four major OTT TV streaming options that carry ESPN — fuboTV, Sling, Hulu, YouTubeTV and AT&T Now. Of the four, Hulu and YouTubeTV offer free trial options.

Below are links to each.

For those who do have a cable or satellite subscription but are not in front of a TV, Formula 1 races in 2021 can be streamed live via phones, tablets and other devices on the ESPN app with authentication.

Formula 1 schedule 2021

Formula 1 returns in 2021 with a zaftig 23-race schedule, starting with the Bahrain Grand Prix on March 28, and concluding with the customary Abu Dhabi Grand Prix on Dec. 12.

The Canadian GP was canned as the country continues to wrangle with coronavirus issues, and F1 added the Styrian GP in its stead. The French GP moves up a week to June 20.

The race originally scheduled for Oct. 3 in Singapore was also axed, with the Turkish GP rejoining the schedule for the same date. That race takes place at Istanbul City Circuit.

The Portuguese Grand Prix returns for its second-consecutive running after a 22-year absence. Also making its debut this year is the Saudi Arabian Grand Prix taking place on the Jeddah Street Circuit, scheduled for December.

DateRaceCourseStart time (ET)TV channelWinner
March 28Bahrain Grand PrixBahrain International Circuit11 a.m.ESPN2Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes)
April 18Emilia Romagna Grand PrixAutodromo Internazionale Enzo e Dino Ferrari9 a.m.TBDMax Verstappen (Red Bull)
May 2Portuguese Grand PrixAlgarve International Circuit10 a.m.ESPNLewis Hamilton (Mercedes)
May 9Spanish Grand PrixCircuit de Barcelona-Catalunya9 a.m.ESPNLewis Hamilton (Mercedes)
May 23Monaco Grand PrixCircuit de Monaco9 a.m.ESPN2Max Verstappen (Red Bull)
June 6Azerbaijan Grand PrixBaku City Circuit8 a.m.ESPNSergio Perez (Red Bull)
June 20French Grand PrixCircuit Paul Ricard9 a.m.ESPN2Max Verstappen (Red Bull)
June 27Styrian Grand PrixRed Bull Ring9 a.m.ESPNMax Verstappen (Red Bull)
July 4Austrian Grand PrixRed Bull Ring9 a.m.ESPNMax Verstappen (Red Bull)
July 18British Grand PrixSilverstone Circuit10 a.m.ESPNTBD
Aug. 1Hungarian Grand PrixHungaroring9 a.m.ESPNTBD
Aug. 29Belgian Grand PrixCircuit de Spa-Francorchamps9 a.m.ESPN2TBD
Sept. 5Dutch Grand PrixCircuit Zandvoort9 a.m.ESPN2TBD
Sept. 12Italian Grand PrixAutodromo Nazionale di Monza9 a.m.ESPN2TBD
Sept. 26Russian Grand PrixSochi Autodrom8 a.m.ESPN2TBD
Oct. 3Turkish Grand PrixIstanbul City CircuitTBDESPN2TBD
Oct. 10Japanese Grand PrixSuzuka International Racing Course1 a.m.ESPN2TBD
Oct. 24United States Grand PrixCircuit of the Americas3 p.m.ABCTBD
Oct. 31Mexico City Grand PrixAutodromo Hermanos Rodriguez3 p.m.ABCTBD
Nov. 7Brazilian Grand PrixAutodromo Jose Carlos PaceNoonESPN2TBD
Nov. 21Australian Grand PrixAlbert Park Circuit1 a.m.ESPN NewsTBD
Dec. 5Saudi Arabian Grand PrixJeddah Street Circuit11 p.m.ESPN2TBD
Dec. 12Abu Dhabi Grand PrixYas Marina Circuit8 a.m.ESPN2TBD