FIFA World Cup: Which teams have qualified to Qatar 2022? Full list of all 32 nations

FIFA World Cup: Which teams have qualified to Qatar 2022? Full list of all 32 nations

The 2022 FIFA World Cup in Qatar is just days away.

This year’s edition will be the first tournament hosted in the Middle East and the first to be held at the end of the calendar year, in November and December.

Eight stadiums will host the event across five cities in Qatar: Lusail, Al Khor, Al Rayyan, Al Wakrah and Doha. 

The World Cup draw was conducted on April 1 where the complete group stage schedule, including times and dates was set.

The World Cup knockout stage is predetermined, with slots already assigned to the top two teams that will qualify from each group. 

Two initial slots were reserved in Group D and Group E for the winner of the two intercontinental playoffs. Australia claimed the first ticket with a victory on penalties over Peru. Costa Rica then beat New Zealand by a 1-0 scoreline in the other intercontinental playoff to claim the 32nd and final slot at Qatar 2022.

Full draw results | Complete schedule | Latest news

How many teams are in the World Cup?

The 2022 men’s World Cup in Qatar will feature 32 teams before the field expands to 48 teams for the 2026 World Cup. The FIFA men’s World Cup has involved 32 teams for the last six editions, since France 1998.

Joining host nation Qatar at the tournament will be 31 other countries that have earned a ticket through regional qualifying matches. Each region was provided a set number of qualifying berths by world governing body FIFA, which organizes the World Cup:

  • Africa (CAF): 5
  • Asia (AFC): 4 (plus 1 playoff qualifier)
  • Europe (UEFA): 13
  • North/Central America & Caribbean (CONCACAF): 3 (plus 1 playoff qualifier)
  • Oceania (OFC): 1 playoff qualifier
  • South America (CONMEBOL): 4 (plus 1 playoff qualifier)

The four playoff qualifiers in the list above participated in two intercontinental playoff matches played in June 2022, featuring one nation from each of four different regions. Those matchups determined the final two qualifiers for the 2022 World Cup: Asia vs. South America, and North America vs. Oceania.

  • Asia vs. South America: Australia (3rd in Asian qualifying group) beat Peru (5th in South America) in a penalty shootout on June 13 to claim a place in Qatar. The Socceroos, into their fifth straight World Cup, defeated the United Arab Emirates 2-1 in an Asian confederation playoff just to earn the chance to face Peru.
  • North America vs. Oceania: Costa Rica (4th place in North America) advanced to the World Cup after beating New Zealand (Oceania winner) 1-0 on June 14 for the final ticket to Qatar. The Ticos joined Germany, Spain and Japan in Group E. 

The final European World Cup berth was also determined in June 2022. Wales beat Ukraine 1-0 in a single-elimination playoff final on June 5. (Wales and Ukraine defeated Austria and Scotland, respectively, to reach the final.) The final European qualifying spot was pushed to the June window after Ukraine requested the postponement from the original March date due to the Russian invasion of the country.

Group A | Group B | Group C | Group D
Group E | Group F | Group G | Group H

When does the World Cup start?

  • Inaugural match: Sunday, Nov. 20, 2022
  • World Cup final: Sunday, Dec. 18, 2022

The 2022 FIFA World Cup will kick off on a Sunday — a day earlier than originally scheduled — with hosts Qatar facing Ecuador in the opening Group A match at the Al Bayt Stadium.

The World Cup final will also be held on a Sunday, as per tradition. The trophy will be hoisted by the winner on Sunday, Dec. 18, 2022.

Which teams have qualified for the World Cup?

A total of 32 teams officially qualified for the 2022 World Cup in Qatar, including the host nation. The final two spots were filled by the intercontinental playoff winners on June 13 and June 14.

In addition to host nation Qatar, there were 13 nations to qualify from Europe, four from South America, four from Asia, five from Africa, four from North America, and Australia, which is a member of the Asian confederation.

The table below features the full 32-team field for the 2022 World Cup, including the date each nation clinched a berth and how they did it. 

(FIFA Ranking
for Draw)
Region Date qualifiedHow qualifiedWC appsTitles (Last)
1Qatar (51)AsiaDec. 2, 2010Hosts1 of 22
2Germany (12)EuropeOct. 11, 20211st – Grp. J20 of 224 (2014)
3Denmark (11)EuropeOct. 12, 20211st – Grp. F6 of 22
4Brazil (1)S. AmericaNov. 11, 2021Top 422 of 225 (2002)
5France (3)EuropeNov. 13, 20211st – Grp. D16 of 222 (2018)
6Belgium (2)EuropeNov. 13, 20211st – Grp. E14 of 22
7Croatia (16)EuropeNov. 14, 20211st – Grp. H6 of 22
8Spain (7)EuropeNov. 14, 20211st – Grp. B16 of 221 (2010)
9Serbia (25)EuropeNov. 14, 20211st – Grp. A4 of 22
10England (5)EuropeNov. 15, 20211st – Grp. I16 of 221 (1966)
11Switzerland (14)EuropeNov. 15, 20211st – Grp. C12 of 22
12Netherlands (10)EuropeNov. 16, 20211st – Grp. G11 of 22
13Argentina (4)S AmericaNov. 16, 2021Top 418 of 222 (1986)
14Iran (21)AsiaJan. 27, 2022Top 2 – Grp. A6 of 22
15South Korea (29)AsiaFeb. 1, 2022Top 2 – Grp. A11 of 22
16Japan (23)AsiaMar. 24, 2022Top 2 – Grp. B7 of 22
17Saudi Arabia (49)AsiaMar. 24, 2022Top 2 – Grp. B6 of 22
18Ecuador (46)S. AmericaMar. 24 2022Top 44 of 22
19Uruguay (13)S. AmericaMar. 24, 2022Top 414 of 222 (1950)
20Canada (38)N. AmericaMar. 27, 2022Top 32 of 22
21Ghana (60)AfricaMar. 29, 2022Playoff4 of 22
22Senegal (20)AfricaMar. 29, 2022Playoff3 of 22
23Portugal (8)EuropeMar. 29, 2022Playoff8 of 22
24Poland (26)EuropeMar. 29, 2022Playoff9 of 22
25Tunisia (35)AfricaMar. 29, 2022Playoff6 of 22
26Morocco (24)AfricaMar. 29, 2022Playoff6 of 22
27Cameroon (37)AfricaMar. 29, 2022Playoff8 of 22
28USA (15)N. AmericaMar. 30, 2022Top 311 of 22
29Mexico (9)N. AmericaMar. 30, 2022Top 317 of 22
30Wales (18)EuropeJune 5, 2022Playoff2 of 22
31Australia (42)AsiaJune 13, 2022Intercont’l
6 of 22
32Costa Rica (31)N. AmericaJune 14, 2022Intercont’l
6 of 22

World Cup Group Draw

These were the results of the group-stage draw, conducted in Doha, Qatar on April 1. 

Group AA1: QatarA2: EcuadorA3: SenegalA4: Netherlands
Group BB1: EnglandB2: IranB3: USAB4: Wales
Group CC1: ArgentinaC2: Saudi ArabiaC3: MexicoC4: Poland
Group DD1: FranceD2: AustraliaD3: DenmarkD4: Tunisia
Group EE1: SpainE2: Costa RicaE3: GermanyE4: Japan
Group FF1: BelgiumF2: CanadaF3: MoroccoF4: Croatia
Group GG1: BrazilG2: SerbiaG3: SwitzerlandG4: Cameroon
Group HH1: PortugalH2: GhanaH3: UruguayH4: South Korea

World Cup Draw Pots

On March 31 FIFA released their updated FIFA World Rankings, which were used to sort the teams into separate pots ahead of the draw held on April 1. Each 2022 World Cup group consists of one team from each of the four pots below.

The top eight teams in the World Rankings (as of March 31) went into Pot 1, the next best eight teams into Pot 2 and so on. Pot 4 also contained the three placeholders for the spots yet to be claimed. This process helped ensure there is competitive balance across the groups.

(FIFA World Ranking on March 31, 2022 added in parentheses below. *Qatar was included in Pot 1 as the host nation, which is a FIFA tradition at World Cup events.)

Pot 1Pot 2Pot 3Pot 4
Qatar (51)*Mexico (9)Senegal (20)Cameroon (37)
Brazil (1)Netherlands (10)Iran (21)Canada (38)
Belgium (2)Denmark (11)Japan (23)Ecuador (46)
France (3)Germany (12)Morocco (24)Saudi Arabia (49)
Argentina (4)Uruguay (13)Serbia (25)Ghana (60)
England (5)Switzerland (14)Poland (26)Intercont’l Playoff 1 (Australia)
Spain (7)USA (15)South Korea (29)Intercont’l Playoff 2 (Costa Rica)
Portugal (8)Croatia (16)Tunisia (35)Euro Playoff (Wales)