AFC Champions League 2022: Fixtures, results, how to watch, teams, prize money and past ACL winners

AFC Champions League 2022: Fixtures, results, how to watch, teams, prize money and past ACL winners

The 2022 edition of the AFC Champions League has officially kicked off with Asia’s best teams vying to be crowned champions of the continent. 

Saudi Arabian giants Al-Hilal claimed the title last year after defeating Pohang Steelers 2-0 in the final. 

Here’s everything you need to know about the current campaign…

AFC Champions League quarter-finals fixtures and results

East Region

DateTime (local)Fixture/ResultStadium
August 2216:00Vissel Kobe vs. JeonbukSaitama Stadium
August 2220:00Urawa Red Diamonds vs. BG Pathum UnitedSaitama Stadium

West Region


AFC Champions League Round of 16 fixtures and results

East Region

DateTime (local)Fixture/ResultStadium
August 1817:00Daegu FC 1-2 Jeonbuk Hyundai MotorsUrawa Komaba Stadium
August 1820:00Vissel Kobe 3-2 Yokohama F. MarinosSaitama Stadium
August 1917:00BG Pathum United 4-0 KitcheeUrawa Komaba Stadium
August 1920:00Johor Darul Ta’zim 0-5 Urawa Red DiamondsSaitama Stadium

West Region

DateTime (local)Fixture/ResultStadium
Feb 3/4, 2023TBCAl-Hilal vs. Shabab Al-AhliTBC
Feb 3/4, 2023TBCAl-Shabab vs. Nasaf QarshiTBC
Feb 3/4, 2023TBCAl-Duhail vs. Al-RayyanTBC
Feb 3/4, 2023TBCAl-Faisaly vs. FooladTBC

When are games being played for the AFC Champions League 2022?

  Date (East Region)Date (West Region)
Group stage MD1April 15-16April 7-8
Group stage MD2April 18-19April 10-11
Group stage MD3April 21-22April 14-15
Group stage MD4April 24-25April 18-19
Group stage MD5 April 27-28April 22-23
Group stage MD6April 30 – May 1April 26-27
Round of 16August 18-19February 3-4 (2023)
Quarter-finalsAugust 22February 7 (2023)
Semi-finals August 25February 10 (2023)
Final (First leg)February 19, 2023
Final (Second leg)February 26, 2023

The AFC Champions League group stage was supposed to begin in February but was delayed by two months due to the COVID-19 pandemic. 

That delay means the entire group stage has been squeezed into a single month with the final then not taking place until February 2023. 

Every knockout fixture aside from the final will be contested across a single leg. 

The next edition of the AFC Champions League isn’t expected to begin until the middle of 2023. 

How to watch and stream the AFC Champions League in 2022

TV channel
StreamingParamount+Paramount+Paramount+, 10Play

ViacomCBS are a major broadcaster of the AFC Champions League with all games available via their streaming service Paramount+ in a range of territories. 

The platform has become a big player of late when it comes to football rights with free trials available for new users

Which teams remain in AFC Champions League this year?

A total of 39 teams competed in the AFC Champions League group stage after Shanghai Port were forced to withdraw due to China’s COVID situation. The competition was expanded from 32 to 40 teams in 2021. 

These are the teams still vying for the title:

Al-HilalSaudi ArabiaWest
Shabab Al-AhliUnited Arab EmiratesWest
Al-ShababSaudi ArabiaWest
Nasaf QarshiUzbekistanWest
Al-FaisalySaudi ArabiaWest
Jeonbuk Hyundai MotorsSouth KoreaEast
BG Pathum UnitedThailandEast
Urawa Red DiamondsJapanEast
Vissel KobeJapanEast

AFC Champions League prize money: How much do teams get?

Aside from the actual title, progressing in and winning the ACL brings with it a significant amount of prize money for clubs. 

This is how the prize money will be distributed in 2022:

ResultPrize money (USD)
Group stage win$50,000
Group stage draw$10,000
Round of 16$100,000

AFC Champions League past winners

Al-Hilal became the competition’s most successful club when they collected their fourth title in 2021. 

They were previously level with Pohang Steelers, who have lifted the trophy three times. 

South Korea remain the most successful country in the ACL with their clubs lifting the title 12 times. 

Here are the most recent AFC Champions League winners: 

Ulsan Hyundai2020
Kashima Antlers2018
Urawa Red Diamonds2017
Jeonbuk Hyundai Motors2016
Guangzhou Evergrande2015
Western Sydney Wanderers2014
Guangzhou Evergrande2013
Ulsan Hyundai2012